The 2017 Australian Football League season is the 121st season of the elite Australian rules football competition. There are 18 teams competing in the league, the same as the previous five seasons. The first game was played on Thursday, 23 March, and the season is scheduled to conclude with the 2017 AFL Grand Final on Saturday, 30 September

The following amendments were made to the Laws of the Game for the 2017 season; Rules relating to around-the-ground ruck contests were amended such that only the nominated ruckman for each team is permitted in the contest, eliminating the option for another player to enter the contest and take the tap, otherwise known as the “third man up” strategy.This was done to make ruck contests easier to adjudicate, to reduce the risk of injuries to ruckmen, and to increase the value of the skill of ruckwork.